Home > Latest News > Australia Day Award winners congratulated
Australia Day Award winners congratulated

Australia Day Award winners congratulated

Mayor Bill Moar has congratulated this year’s Australia Day Award winners at an Australia Day ceremony held this morning.
The award recipients are:

• Citizen of the Year Lucy Dacey – in recognition of her long and valued service to the Nyah District community.
• Young Citizen of the Year Mia Rovere – for her outstanding youth advocacy work.
• Community Event of the Year: the Swan Hill 24-hour Swimathon – which raised funds for Chances for Children.

“It was a great honour today to announce the winners of the Australia Day Awards, and I would like to congratulate the award recipients,” Cr Moar said.

“I’d also like to thank the award winners for their outstanding contributions to our Swan Hill municipality and their local community.”

Due to COVID-19 restrictions on public gatherings, this year’s Australia Day celebrations included a small flag-raising ceremony at the Council offices in Swan Hill in lieu of the traditional Australia Day breakfast.

Smaller events also took place around the municipality to celebrate Australia Day, including at Ultima, Boundary Bend, Nyah District and Robinvale.

As well as presenting the Australia Day Awards, Cr Moar welcomed new citizens at Australia Day citizenship ceremonies held in Swan Hill and Robinvale.