Fire Danger Period and Fire Danger Ratings

Fire Danger Period

The Country Fire Authority (CFA) declares the fire danger period each year for each municipality in the lead up to the fire season. It may be declared as early as October and remains in force until as late as May.

Once the Fire Danger Period has been declared, fire restrictions come into force. You cannot light a fire in the open air unless you have a permit issued by CFA.

During the Fire Danger Period Council will NOT issue permits to burn.

Find out what you can and can't do on during the Fire Danger Period, visit the CFA website

Fire Danger Ratings

Fire Danger Ratings tell you how dangerous a fire could be if one started. They are important because they help you decide what actions to take to protect yourself and others from bushfires and grassfires.

Fire Danger Ratings (CFA)

There are four levels of fire danger:

  • Moderate - Plan and prepare
  • High - Be ready to act
  • Extreme - Take action now to protect your life and property
  • Catastrophic - For your survival, leave bushfire risk areas

Fire Danger Ratings will be issued on days when there is a fire risk.

For full details on what the ratings mean and what should you do, visit the CFA website.

Total Fire Ban

As well as the Fire Danger Ratings the CFA might declare a Total Fire Ban. 

During a CFA total fire ban day, burning off is prohibited, even if you have a permit to burn.
Total Fire Ban
Anyone who breaches a Total Fire Ban declaration is subject to heavy legal penalties including large fines and even imprisonment.


Find out what you can and can't do on days of Total Fire Ban visit, the CFA website